Wednesday, June 21, 2017

2018 Nominees

TheEarly Nominees for 2018
BRitish ColumbiaAmateur Boxing Hall of Fame.

Five names to begin the process:
Bob Decker, Brian Zelley, Clarke McLellan
Dave Wylie and Wayne Boyce.

Number six in the process: Barry Krangle


Wayne Boyce with Walter and Tommy.

Brian Zelley

Brian Zelley and Clarke McLellan
1973 at Nanaimo, BC.

June 2017
Inductee Tony Duffy
Nominates former coach Barry Ktangle.

Barry Krangle, nominee for 2018
BC Amateur Boxing 
Hall of Fame.

Four of the Nominees
Wayne Boyce, Clarke McLellan
Dave Wylie and Brian Zelley

Other Nominees Added as at August 21, 2017
include "2 Rivers Boxing Club", Quesnel, BC.

One of many shows by 2 Rivers.

2 Rivers' boxers


Monday, September 12, 2016

BCABHOF 2017 Nominees

2017 BCABHOF nominees

The 2017 nominee Parade:by Brian Zelley
Thirteen nominees with 11 receiving adequate support to-date

Top Early Name: Mickey Sims follwed by honourary nominee
Lennox Lewis. 
                         Lennox Lewis, Olympic Gold 1988

                    Mickiey Sims, former president Boxing BC

Special Club Categories:
The Lowes and West South Hill/Firefighters Boxing Club

Nine of the many that were part of the Firefighters' legacy
                 Freddy Fuller, Dick Findlay, Dave Wylie
                  Brian Zelley, Gordie Lawson, Jmmy Walters,
              John Gamble, Frank Albert Scott, Lindy Lindmoser.

A Special category nominated is:
The BC Golden Boys from 1939 to 1969:

The others between 1965 and  1968 are:
Freddy Fuller, Dick Findlay, Ray Lampkin, Neil Knight.

There are nine other names nominated:

        Two photos from the Arnold McKewen scrapbook

Others Mike Moore, Leif Albrēctsen and Tommy Yule. 

Monday, February 8, 2016

Inductees 2016, Year 7

2016 INDUCTEES: * By Brian Zeller
* Boyd Bain, Ed Williams, Shirley Knopp,
Sid Knopp, Ray Beaulieu, Scott Galloway,
Steven Kodak, Steve Wood, Asif Dar,
Ian Clyde, Scotty Olson, North West Eagles,
BC Senior Boxing team 1970 Nationals.
Ian Clyde, honorary inductee

* Ian Clyde, Asif Dar and Scotty Olson
Muhamkad Ali, George Chuvalo and 
Jimmy McLarnin in the honourary inductees class.

* Shirley Knopp joins other women in boxng
incluiding builders Margaret O'Reilly and Linda Gigliotti.  

Boyd Bayne, Ed Williams and Sid Knopp
added to the builders category which includes the first five in 2010
Dave Brown, Elio Ius, Fred Fuller
Pat O'Reilley and Rick Brough

*Ray Beaulieu, Scott Galloway,
Steven Kodiak and Steve Wood
are four of the original co-founders
and administrators along with
Brian Zelley  and Dan McGarvie.
Ray, Scott, Steven and Steve
are recognized for their
contribution for the success
of the
British Columbia Amateur Boxing
Hall of Fame
and BC Amateur Boxing.

                      North West Eagles Boxing Club 1965

Sunday, October 19, 2014

George Chuvalo's Last Stand - Documentary

Alexander Scotty Jackson, BCABHoF nominee 2015

Scotty Jackson: by Brian Zelley, BCABHoF

Participation in amateur boxing is an
important quality for all nominees for
British Columbia Amateur Boxing
Hall of Fame.

* Over the years since his early years
in amateur boxing, Scotty has met this
requirement in many ways.
* executive member of Boxing BC
* Queensborough boxing club coach
* involvement at Boxing Canada meetings
* a voice in the likes of the Vancouver Sun,

Some would likely remember Scotty 
speaking out at meetings such as that in
 December 2003 Boxing Canada.
 Also in attendance was  BC's John O'Shea.

* or the time he spoke about women;s boxing
 in the "Vancouver Sun"